42 Nazareth students named Illinois State Scholars

A major honor for over 40 students from Nazareth Academy in La Grange Park. Read the release:

Nazareth Academy Principal, Deborah Tracy, is pleased to announce that 42 Nazareth students from the Class of 2014 have been recognized as 2014-15 Illinois State Scholars

“We are extremely proud of these young men and women who represent our school not only in this area of academic achievement, but also as such outstanding individuals as well.  We congratulate them and their parents on this distinguished honor,” said Tracy.

The prestigious award is given annually by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC). Since 1979, over 582,000 Illinois students have been honored as State Scholars. 

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in the top ten percent of high school seniors from 749 different high schools across the state. Selection is based on SAT, ACT and/or Prairie State Achievement Exam scores, and/or class rank at the end of junior year. High school guidance counselors work in conjunction with ISAC to determine the winners.

Nazareth Academy congratulates the following students on this outstanding academic achievement:


Steven Farrell


Talia Sharpp

Burr Ridge

Brooke Donnelly


Caitlyn Degnan

Nina Finnigan

Michael Heene

Aleksandra Kiernoziak

Megan O'Kane

Kaitlyn Yarka

Clarendon Hills

Robert Ernest


Lindsay Zasadzinski 

Forest Park

Ethan Flanagan

Brad Gray


Allen Bell III

Lauren Wajda


Madison Waun

Indian Head Park

Taryn Kryza

Rachel Pellegrino

Anna Rafanelli

Cara Rafanelli

Michael Yu

La Grange

Katelyn Cahill

Erin Getty

Camille Lang

Benjamin Otto

Kevin Saladino

Robert Titzer

La Grange Park

Andrew O'Hea

Matthew O'Hea

Kiley Roache


Christine Turek


William Ernst

Rachel Hosek

Steven Patchak

Robert Tworek

Western Springs

David DiLoreto

Andrew Dobis

David Heyer

John Mazur

Ryan Minik

Christopher Swade


Amanda Wang

While the prestigious recognition does not include a monetary award, recipients are encouraged to cite the honor on applications for college admission and scholarships.

Originally formed as the Illinois State Scholarship Commission in 1957, the Illinois Student Assistance Commission provides students of all ages and backgrounds with the resources and support to help obtain financial aid for higher education. Students and families have free access to a wealth of financial aid and college planning information at ISAC’s family of websites available at, and

Nazareth Academy, a Catholic, coeducational, college preparatory high school serving families from 55 communities and over 100 grade schools in Chicago and the western suburbs, established in 1900 and sponsored by the Congregation of St. Joseph, values scholarship, service, spirit, and unity.


This content was submitted by a member of the community. We'd like to hear from you, too! To share stories, photos, video or events for our calendar, please email Community News Manager Michael Cronin at or use the La Grange online submission tool or Western Springs online submission tool or Burr Ridge online submission tool.

Read More From The Community
  • Advertisement
  • Advertisement
  • Advertisement
  • Advertisement
  • Advertisement
  • Advertisement